The Summer Routine and the School Schedule

When I started graduate school, working towards my teaching certifications and masters in education, there was a story that circulated about one of my fellow grad students.  As the story went, she was in a class where the professor asked all the students why they wanted to go into teaching.  Her response was, “so I can have summers off!”.  I’m pretty sure it was meant to be a joke, although the professor didn’t think it was funny at all!

I certainly didn’t become a teacher so that I could have the summers off, but I won’t deny that it’s a very nice perk!

Truth be told, there is no “summer routine”.  Sure, there are things I have to do each day, but there isn’t a specific schedule to follow.  I make my to do list for the day and follow it at my own pace, with the flexibility to change it as needed and the freedom to drop it completely if something else comes up!  It’s a pretty nice feeling and totally different from the rigid routine of the school day.

I’m very thankful for this time and am trying not to take a moment for granted!  I certainly know it won’t last forever.

As if to reinforce that idea, several nights ago I had a dream about my school schedule.  In my dream it was the new year and I had been assigned to teach two new classes – chemistry and football.

Okay, chem I could probably handle, although in my dream I had no time to prepare anything at all so I was freaking out.  But football?!  Who in the world has a class about football?  And, if you know me outside of this blog, you would know that football is not my thing.  I try to get into it a little for my husband’s sake, but I am in no way qualified nor would I ever enjoy teaching a class about it!

Needless to say, it was a relief to wake up… but it got me wondering about when I would find out my real schedule.

I logged into my school email the next morning and, what do you know, there was an email saying our schedules would be available in a couple days!  What timing!

My schedule was posted today and the layout of my day seems pretty good.  I got to take a peek at my students and, although I don’t know any of them yet, it’s nice to get an idea of the kids I’ll be working with this coming year.  Overall I’m pleased with how things look!

That being said… I’ll happily enjoy my summer routine for another month.  I’m not in any rush to be back to the school schedule yet!

 

Share Your Thoughts!