My Life is a Project and Summer Challenge #4

I’m running a special on the blog today – two for the price of one!

Truthfully I meant to post these updates as two separate blogs, but we had a busy weekend so I’m smooshing them together into one.

My Life is a Project

The summer challenge for last week was to set aside some time to work on a project.  I was talking about it with my mom during the week and said, “my life is a project!”  We got a good laugh out of it, but that is actually a fairly accurate statement on where things are at right now.

Unpacking and setting up the new house is still a work in progress, so every week my mental to do list is full of projects.  When I look back at where we started with this house and where we’re at now, we have accomplished quite a bit.  There’s still more to be done, but we’re getting there a little at a time.

Before we even moved in, we tackled the project of painting.  With the help of family, we painted all the bedrooms, the family room, and the kitchen.  One thing that hadn’t been finished in the kitchen, however, was the trim.

Painting is a tougher thing to accomplish when it’s just me and Natalie at home, but I’ve been wanting to get the trim around the pantry and broom closet done this week so the doors could be hung up again.

IMG_8025

Mission accomplished!  Yes I know, exciting picture of white doors, haha!  Here’s a more interesting shot of something I had worked on previously.

IMG_8024

I used chalkboard spray paint to make a chalkboard inside the broom closet.  Now that the door is hanging again, it’s been fun to test it out.  It’s a good spot for grocery lists, to do lists, notes/reminders, Bible verses to memorize, etc.

This week I also set aside some time to work on a couple smaller things that I’ve been wanting to do.

I put together this frame to go in Natalie’s room…

IMG_8028

… and I loaded a bunch of kids music on my computer (thanks to old CDs my mom saved from when I was a kid!).

If I can get my college laptop to cooperate, I’m going to put a bunch of music on my older iPod so I can set it up in Natalie’s playroom.  That part of the project is yet to be done, but it’s a step in the right direction!

Summer Challenge #4

The challenge this week – make a time capsule.

This idea came to me one night while I was getting Natalie ready for bed and I thought it would be something fun and different to do.

Use an old shoebox, or even just a large envelope if you want, and fill it and seal it for a set amount of time.  I’m planning to do ours for a year, but you could go longer or shorter if you’d like.

Here are just a few ideas of what you could put inside…

  • A letter to your future self – write about things that are important to you now, what you hope might be happening in your life when you open the time capsule, etc.
  • A picture – we don’t print pictures as often now, so a hard copy of a photo or two from this point in your life would be fun to look back at when you open the time capsule
  • Something about current events and/or what is popular today – maybe the headline from the paper that day, or a list of the top 10 most played songs on the radio
  • A special item that relates to your life at the time – a ticket from a movie or event you attended, a card someone sent you, a page from a calendar your wrote your plans on
  • For young kids – have them draw/color a picture, write their name, trace their hand, etc.  I think it would be especially fun for younger kids to look back and see how much they have changed in a year.

What other ideas do you have?  I think we’re going to try to do this on August 1st so it’s an easy date to remember next year.  Have fun!

 

Share Your Thoughts!

